theridingwriter

Just another WordPress.com site

Horses in Your Soul April 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — theridingwriter @ 12:20 pm

To me, horses are a big part of who I am. Sure, I work in the horse industry so it’s part of my working life., but it goes much further than that. I grew up obsessed with horses. Even though I started riding at age 8 I didn’t own my first horse until I was 22. There have been times since then that I’ve been horseless, but not for more than a year. Horse are more than a hobby for me. They are more than a profession. I guess they really are an addiction. A good ride on my horse can make me feel good for days, and if I go too long without riding I get very grumpy (just ask my husband). Being with the horses relieves my stress and allows me to get away from the difficult realities we’ve faced the last 2 years. You take the horses away and you literally take away my reason for getting out of bed in the morning. Sure when it’s pouring down rain or freezing cold I’d much rather stay in bed, but they keep me going – keep me grounded – keep me sane when so much else goes wrong. But how do I explain that to non-horse people? How do I explain that to people who see horses as extravagant expenses that do nothing but cost money? How do I justify keeping them and the farm? Would I survive without them? Sure I would. Would I be happy? Absolutely not.

I’m curious to know what other horse people think. What are horses to you? A hobby? An addiction? A way of life?

Cheers!

 

4 Responses to “Horses in Your Soul”

  1. Claudia Says:

    Tough two years? Yep. Ditto. Hope to see you sometime this year, Stephanie. Heading to Virginia beach and up the Eastern Seaboard …NY and CT during July/August. Have my farm in Texas on the market but still a few horses. Sure had hoped VLT’s would have openned up Texas for some breeding and racing. It’s been a long hard road and not one I can manage now. CKS

    • Hey Claudia. It’s good to hear from you! Times have been tough for so many people, certainly you among them. Enjoy your East Coast adventure. If you’re in MD feel free to look me up!

  2. Lawson Williams Says:

    An absolute, non treatable and not curable addiction.
    You are totally defenseless against the addiction.
    A true horse person will have it no other way.
    The horse will empty your wallet and in turn will fill your heart.
    Rejoice that God so blessed you with the addiction.


Leave a Reply

