theridingwriter

Just another WordPress.com site

Blogging on a Snow Day February 3, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — theridingwriter @ 3:08 pm
Tags: , , , ,

1546279_650273495341_1362278932_n (2)I’m blogging today. Why? Because we are having another significant snow event and we only own one reliable bad weather vehicle. Since my husband Donavon is the one with the fulltime job he gets the truck and I stay in the apartment. We live in Maryland. Who would’ve thought we’d have so many days where I was stuck in the apartment? Okay, whining over. Last week it finally started to warm up and the existing snow began to melt. Apparently that is why it is snowing again. We must have snow covered ground. At any rate, I actually managed a few good riding days.

Bahea seems to be happy with her new home and she’s starting to know me, or at least that I always have treats in my left pocket. I’m really starting to like Bahea. At 17 she is old enough to be settled, but chestnut mare enough to have an opinion. The first two times I rode her she tried spooking in a couple of different spots. Her methodology seems to be to stop dead and then shift quickly into reverse. However, it only takes mild encouragement for her to go forward, and I’ve found that she gives up quickly when she realizes it is not successful. Thus I really think the spooking is a test and once deemed worthy (or at least knowing what to do in case of rapidly backing horse) she will quietly accept you as the rider and one in charge.

Because it’s been years since she’s been in regular work I’m keeping things short and simple. We’re doing large figures and transitions at walk and trot on a light contact. Initially Bahea traveled with her head up and back tight but she quickly is offering to stretch out and down which is wonderful. That’s really all I want her to do right now. She has no topline muscle and quite the hay belly so doing this slow stretching work is a wonderful place to begin. She’s less fussy with her head since having her teeth done (duh) and quite amicable about being ridden. I have learned that she is a face scratcher. When we halt she really wants to rub her face on her right leg (and so far only the right leg). Other than that she is very polite.

While I was told she was an alpha mare with other horses, she has yet to work her way into the herd. She seems to still be biding her time. She stays on the outskirts of the other four, but when those girls move across the pasture and go by her, Bahea follows along, making it think it was their idea to include her. Smart girl. She is going to be a treasure for someone.

 

6 Responses to “Blogging on a Snow Day”

  1. Margaret Lundy Says:

    Hi Steph, I enjoy your reports. It looks as if you have another wonderful mare to work with. Lucky her! How do you like living in an apartment after the farm? Margaret

  2. Hi Margaret. Yes, Bahea is a good soul. Living in an apartment has definitely been an adjustment. I miss the daily interaction with the horses but we’ve had such a bad winter I don’t miss all the work! The new place is supposed to be done in March. I will be glad to be permanently settled.

  3. BGBrown@aol.com Says:

    Steph, really enjoy your blogs. Each is a lesson for me in the personalities of horses and their social behaviors. Thanks for sharing. Your mom called yesterday and seemed in good spirits. She said Joe is well again and able to visit. Is there anything special I can get her for her birthday? Thinking of you in your apartment.. will you be moving in a month or so to your permanent home? We have done that a couple of times and it is like living in limbo…boxes become furniture. Love, bg

  4. racestreet Says:

    Hi Steph, I caught up on your past year’s blogs, Wonderful…you’re a great storyteller!


Leave a Reply

