theridingwriter

Just another WordPress.com site

Introducing Lily May 26, 2017

Filed under: Uncategorized — theridingwriter @ 1:40 am
Tags: , , ,

My blog has been more than inactive. I started it to chronicle my activities with rescue-type horses. The mares Gwen and Bahea both found fabulous homes and I’m happy to report both are loved and doing very well. I’ve had one eye open for another horse, but nothing has fit the bill.

Three years ago I made the decision to breed my first horse – a purebred Arabian intended for racing. I leased a mare named Awesome Blossom from Michelle Morgan at Mandolynn Hill Farm in Texas, selected the stallion Sadeem from Forta Stud in Abu Dhabi, UAE and got lucky. The following year a beautiful bay filly was born. Named Stylized Lily, she has lived the last 2 years with her friends in Texas.

LILY (21)

Circumstances worked out such that the timing worked to bring her to Maryland. While I still want to give her time to grow up, it is definitely time to start doing groundwork with her and getting her ready for her future as a race horse or sport horse. So next week she is shipping to Windy Oak Farm in Union Bridge, MD where my mare Nadia (also from Mandolynn Hill Farm) lives.

I thought this was a good reason to bring the blog back – to talk about life with Lily and documenting her education towards becoming a racehorse. Hopefully all will go smoothly, but we all know that horses seldom stick to your plan. I look forward to you joining me in this journey. Hopefully it’s going to be a fun ride.

Lily trot2 Feb2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo by Steve Heath.

 

5 Responses to “Introducing Lily”

  1. Debra Says:

    Exciting times! She has gone into a beautiful girl!

  2. Margaret Lundy Says:

    Hi Stephanie, it’s great to hear about your new adventures. All the best with the lovely young mare!

  3. Lawson Williams Says:

    “AND AWAY THEY GO!” Lily is looking super. I’m sure it will be a great ride.


Leave a Reply

